Connect with us


List of Courses Offered at University of the Witwatersrand

The Official List of Courses Offered at the University of the Witwatersrand | WITS University Courses offered for admission. This is the list of available Postgraduate, Undergraduate, Diploma and certificate courses/programmes offered at the institution and approved by the Council on Higher Education.

Are you looking for the list of Undergraduate and Postgraduate courses available at the University of the Witwatersrand (WITS)? The following is the list of available Postgraduate (PGD, Masters and P.hD), Undergraduate, Certificate, Diploma courses/programmes offered at the University of the Witwatersrand that has gained accreditation.

Page Contents

University of the Witwatersrand Courses

The University of the Witwatersrand has a total of five (5) faculties;

  • Faculty of Commerce, Law and Government
  • Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Science

Faculty of Commerce, Law and Management (CLM)

Degrees offered:
  • Bachelor of Commerce:
    • options include the double major flexible general BCom, or
    • fixed curriculum specialisations in Accounting, Law, Information Systems, and the PPE, or
    • popular fixed combinations are Economics and Finance or Management; Finance and Management or Insurance Risk Management; Human Resource Management and Management or Marketing; Management and Marketing or Insurance Risk Management.
  • Bachelor of Accounting Science: BAccSc
  • Bachelor of Economic Science: BEconSc
  • Bachelor of Laws: LLB

 Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment

  • Bachelor of Science (Engineering) – BSc Eng
  • Bachelor of Engineering Science in Digital Arts – BEngSC (Digital Arts)
  • Bachelor of Engineering Science in Biomedical Engineering – BEngSC(BME)
  • Bachelor of Architectural Studies – BAS
  • Bachelor of Science in Urban and Regional Planning – BSc (URP)
  • Bachelor of Science in Construction Studies- BSc (CS)
  • Bachelor of Science in Property Studies – BSc (PS)
READ ALSO  List of Courses Offered at Flavius Mareka TVET College

Faculty of Health Sciences

  • Bachelor of Health Sciences – BHSc (Biomedical Sciences, Biokinetics or Health Systems Sciences)
  • Bachelor of Clinical Medical Practice – BCMP
  • Bachelor of Dental Science – BDS
  • Bachelor of Oral Health Sciences – BOHSc
  • Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery – MBBCh
  • Bachelor of Nursing – BNurs
  • Bachelor of Science in Occupational Therapy – BSc(OT)
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy – BPharm
  • Bachelor of Science in Physiotherapy – BSc(Physiotherapy)

 Faculty of Humanities

  • Bachelor of Arts – BA (3 years)
    A BA programme is made up of two major subjects and a number of additional courses. A major is a subject that you take from first year through to the third year. This means you study the same subject in the first, second and third year.

Professional and Specialist Programmes (all 4 years)

  • Bachelor of Arts in Digital Arts – BA Digital Arts
  • Bachelor of Arts in Theatre and Performance – BA (Theatre and Performance)
  • Bachelor of Education – BEd
  • Bachelor of Arts in Film and Television – BAFT
  • Bachelor of Arts in Fine Arts – BA Fine Arts
  • Bachelor of Music – BMus
  • Bachelor of Social Work
  • Bachelor of Audiology
  • Bachelor of Speech-Language Pathology

Faculty of Sciences

BSc degree:

Many fields of study are offered within the Bachelor of Science (BSc) Programme. The broad areas are:

Biological and Life Sciences;

Biology covers all aspects of the study of living organisms, ranging from understanding the gene to managing ecosystems. This includes the molecular basis of life, including the biochemistry of molecules such as DNA, RNA and proteins; the physiological functions of cells, tissues, organs and organ systems; the influence of evolutionary relationships on a wide range of biological problems; and aquatic and terrestrial ecology.

READ ALSO  List of Courses Offered at Stellenbosch University

Earth Sciences;

The Earth Sciences study the processes that shape the earth, atmosphere and the organisms that have evolved on earth. Fields of specialisation include the exploration for and the mining of minerals, the prediction of weather and earthquakes, the evolution of species through time, the state of our natural environment and how we can best manage the system.


Mathematical Sciences;

Wits has three large schools in the area of study known as the ‘Mathematical Sciences’ and these are the School of Mathematics, the School of Computer Science & Applied Mathematics and the School of Statistics and Actuarial Science

Pure Mathematics is a developing science. Mathematical Statistics and Actuarial Science are important in business and governmental planning, insurance, finance, banking and investments.

Applied Mathematics has applications in banking, finance and industry. Computer Science offers the understanding of computer hardware and software, in all their applications.

Physical Sciences


From nuclear, particle, solid and liquid state physics, electricity, electronics, magnetism, optics, acoustics, heat and thermodynamics to the composition of matter (gas, liquid or solid) and of the changes that take place in it under certain conditions.