Connect with us


CETA Thapelo Madibeng Bursaries 2023

Applications are open for interested and suitably qualified candidates for the CETA Thapelo Madibeng Bursaries 2023. The entire application details for the CETA Thapelo Madibeng Bursaries can be accessed below.


CETA Thapelo Madibeng Bursaries

Construction Education and Training Authority (CETA) invites South African students to apply for Thapelo Madibeng Bursaries Programme 2023 academic year.

Bursaries will be awarded for studies towards construction-related qualifications, at undergraduate and postgraduate level (including Masters and above), which may include but are not limited to:
Public University studies:

  • Architecture (BSc / National Diploma)
  • Building Arts (BA)
  • Civil Engineering (BSc)
  • Construction Economics (BSc)
  • Construction Management (BSc)
  • Construction Studies (BSc)
  • Geomatics (BSc)
  • Property Development (BSc)
  • Quantity Surveying (BSc)
  • Urban and Regional Planning (BSc)

The University of Technology studies:

  • Building (National Diploma)
  • Civil Engineering (National Diploma)
  • Quantity Surveying (National Diploma)
  • Real Estate (National Diploma)
  • Surveying (National Diploma)

TVET College studies:

  • Civil Engineering and Building Construction (NCV)
  • Electrical Infrastructure Construction (Levels 2 to 4) (NCV)

The bursary will provide cover for the following expenses (up to a maximum value of R120 000): registration fees, tuition fees, books, accommodation, meals, and any other expenses necessary for completing the qualification eg. fieldwork/ research costs/ laboratory costs, etc (at the discretion of the CETA).

Bursaries are reviewed annually and may be renewed if students’ academic performance is satisfactory (as well as any other applicable additional criteria at the discretion of the CETA).



Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • You must be a South African citizen
  • You must be 35 years old or younger
  • You must have completed Matric
  • You must be studying full-time or part-time towards one of the construction-related qualifications listed above, at the Undergraduate or Postgraduate level
  • You must be registered to study at a public institution (University, University of Technology, or TVET College) in South Africa
  • You must meet the eligibility criteria of your institution
  • You must have achieved the prescribed minimum academic pass mark in your year of study
  • You must NOT be receiving funding from a CETA-funded entity
  • You must NOT be receiving funding from NSFAS or any other public funding scheme
  • You must NOT be an immediate family member of a CETA employee
  • Preference will be given to candidates from designated groups as per the CETA Policy, including the following: applicants with disabilities, female applicants pursuing studies within the construction or built environment field, applicants from rural areas pursuing studies within the construction or built environment field, and unemployed applicants willing to pursue studies within the construction or built environment field
READ ALSO  National Arts Council (NAC) Bursaries 2023/2024

How to Apply

Applications must be submitted online at CETA Thapelo Madibeng Bursary Application 2023

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your online application (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application may be disqualified):

  • ID document (certified copy)
  • Matric certificate (certified copy)
  • Full tertiary academic record, if currently studying (certified copy)
  • Proof of acceptance to study at a tertiary institution (on letterhead)
  • Parent’s or guardian’s ID documents (certified copies)
  • Parents or guardian’s proof of income (latest payslips if employed, affidavit if unemployed, proof of social grant or pension if applicable, doctors certificate if permanently disabled, death certificate if deceased) (certified copy)

Application Deadline: 10 February 2023